top of page
  • Writer's pictureAllie Hansen

FTX’s “Don’t Miss Out”

Lead agency: DentsuMB


Since the Super Bowl was last night, I obviously have to write about one of the commercials. that stood out to me the most. Though it was tough to pick, I had to go with the one that made me laugh the hardest.


FTX was one of many cryptocurrency commercials last night but this spot caught everyone's attention. The commercial is led by Curb Your Enthusiasm star, Larry David, as he time travels through different points of history and shuts down the innovative ideas that shape how we live today.



My attention was immediately grabbed when the minute-long ad began with a man presenting the wheel and Larry responding “Yeah, I don’t think so. This is a miss”.


I found it to be a very clever way to suck people in and make them wonder what is coming next.

As Larry continues to shoot down ideas including the fork, the lightbulb, and even the toilet, it becomes clear that Larry does not see the value in what's being presented to him.


Personally, one of my favorite clips is him rejecting the possibility of traveling to the moon because it is simply “too far”.

What is clever about the ad is that it addresses the hesitations people have towards cryptocurrency since it is relatively new.


Imagine where the world would be if Thomas Edison actually was told that the light bulb “stinks” and he gave up there. The commercial changes people’s perspective that something new can change the world forever.

Cryptocurrency is something I haven’t gotten into quite yet, but this commercial definitely made me consider it. The concept is creative and extremely clever which helped it stand out from all of the other celebrity-filled ads.


Which Super Bowl ad was your favorite this year? I will continue covering different Super Bowl spots in the following weeks so stay tuned!


Sources:


bottom of page